This week in disaster preps

Each Friday I round up what our family has done this week in to better our preparedness situation.

This week I focused much more on gaining knowledge rather than physical preps. In a real world SHTF (sh*t hit the fan) situation, you can have all of the things in the world you could ever need to survive, but if you haven’t learned how to use them or learned what to do once those things run out, you’ll be up a creek without a paddle.

Here’s what we accomplished this week:

unnamed (7)

1.Finished The Provident Prepper. This is a great resource for the beginner level preppers, maybe even a little past beginner. Now that I have finished the book, I’m going to go back chapter by chapter and apply their recommendations to our plans.

2. Purchased One Second After by William R. Forstchen with an Amazon credit I had accrued. I’ve come across several blogs and websites that stated this book is what caused them to start their prepping journey. Here’s a quick synopsis: “New York Times best selling author William R. Forstchen now brings us a story which can be all too terrifyingly real…a story in which one man struggles to save his family and his small North Carolina town after America loses a war, in one second, a war that will send America back to the Dark Ages…A war based upon a weapon, an Electro Magnetic Pulse (EMP). A weapon that may already be in the hands of our enemies.”

3. As directed in The Provident Prepper, took time to seriously evaluate all of our possessions. We finally finished sifting through our basement, cleaning, and organizing. We donated over 10 (!) trash bags of clothes, toys, and household items to the church-run store next door that helps families in need. The rest of the house is my responsibility, while the garage is alllll for my husband.

I think that it’s important to do this regularly, not just for prepping reasons, but for your sanity as well! As a society we tend to have an attachment to stuff (guilty here). What we are trying to do in correlation with our prepping journey is to live a more simple, less crowded life.

4. I spent my budgeted $10 at Aldi yesterday. Here’s what I purchased:

              5 cans of baked beans = $0.39 each => $1.95 (SCORE!)

5 cans of peaches = $0.79 => $3.95

5 cans of pears = $0.79 => $3.95

Total cost= 15 cans to add to our stockpile for just under $10.

5. My husband had a successful hunt during the short shotgun season! We added over 50 lbs of venison to our freezer and stock in the form of roasts, back straps (steaks), jerky, ground venison, and venison sticks (like beef sticks). We use all or as much of the animal as possible, I feel that it would be a great disrespect to that animal if we were wasteful. His hide and head have been taken to the taxidermist and my brothers took what was left of his carcass to bait some coyotes that have been killing calves from our family’s cattle herd.

Next week’s plan includes purchasing another Aqua Tainer for our water storage, making prep related Christmas presents for my family (I can’t wait to share this!), and starting One Second After. 

What did you do this week to prepare for disaster? I’d love to hear from you! 

 

 

2 thoughts on “This week in disaster preps

  1. Good job this week! I think my husband has read One Second After. So has my FIL and who ever else he could talk in to it. Hasn’t gotten to me yet I guess :).

    1) Our 7 gallon water jugs came in the mail yesterday and we are filling it with filtered water (we like the taste better than straight from the tap) so it taking a bit longer to fill.

    2) Still waiting our on GoTenna.

    3)Used this blog to start some conversations with my hubby. Trust me it isn’t hard to get him talking about prepping. I like your approach and attitude towards it and it makes a good starting point for me. (thank you).

    4)I did some decluttering. I took photos of some kids clothes to sell.

    5) Kept our batteries charged. We got to test our jump pack. I can’t always tell when the Prius is started, the engine doesn’t start when you hit the button and it isn’t the car I drive daily. Well I did it wrong and killed the battery. Oops! Our little jump pack took care of it ASAP though.
    This is similar (we got 20 aH):
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00GX4Y9AY?keywords=jump%20pack&qid=1449938508&ref_=sr_1_7&sr=8-7

    6) We bought new snow shovels. We needed them anyway because all of ours cracked last winter. So we upgraded a bit. Not a snow flake to be seen in MI but it’ll get here. Now we need to get gas for the snow blower.

    7) We looked (and are going to look, that is our plan for today) at land. We don’t know if we are buying or building next but we would like a place for a garden.

    I didn’t realize we did so much. That why I like these posts 🙂

    Like

    • Wow! You got a lot accomplished last week! I had grand plans for the weekend, but we got hit with a nasty bug and we didn’t do much of anything unfortunately. I’m excited to hear what you think about the GoTenna. I told my husband about it and he’s been looking at reviews. No snow here in NE Ohio yet either (didn’t realize we were so close!) It’s been nice to have the warm weather, but it feels like it’s getting dark by 4:30 pm so we don’t get to enjoy it too much. I’m hoping the snow doesn’t carry over far into Spring-time!

      How many children do you have?! What are their thoughts on disaster prep? Mine is too young to really be involved yet, but she’ll be raised in it 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

